CAF withdraws AFCON 2019 hosting rights from Cameroon

CAF withdraws AFCON 2019 hosting rights from Cameroon

The country's status as hosts of AFCON has been in doubt for the last few months since the decision was made to increase the tournament from 16 to 24 teams.

They stated the slow pace of construction and renovation of six stadiums - venues for the matches as the reason behind the outcome of the meeting.

Earlier, the executive committee of CAF are to meet in the Ghanaian capital Accra on the sidelines of the Africa Women's Cup of Nations tournament, an official of the Cairo-based told AFP.

Ahmad said "a task force" would be set up to launch an appeal for offers "to determine a new organising country between now and the end of the year".

"Caf reiterates that Cameroon remains a serious candidate to organize a future edition of Afcon, and acknowledges that Cameroon has mobilized significant resources and worked tirelessly to host Afcon 2019".

Holy Cow: Australia’s giant steer has internet in splits
Much of that is down to Knickers' pure animal magnetism - other cattle tend to follow him around the paddocks in their hundreds. An Australian steer has been saved from slaughter because it is too big to be processed in a normal abattoir.

"CAF will ensure that a new host is in place by 31st December, 2018, and it will communicate openly and transparently on the process and subsequent decision". "Beforehand, a joint Caf and Fifa Committee will travel to Cameroon in October to study security issues".

Moroccan sports television channel Arriyadia said that CAF has "officially" stripped Cameroon of the rights.

Cameroon, who are five time African football champions, have struggled to demonstrate their capacity to host the finals since CAF chose to increase the size of the tournament from 16 to 24 teams.

The 2017 finals were originally due to be held in South Africa, but they had swapped with Libya, which was then also unable to host and Gabon took over.

African Cup hosting has been a major headache for CAF, with the last four tournaments not held in the country they were initially awarded to.