Los Angeles, New York among eight cities in new XFL

Los Angeles, New York among eight cities in new XFL

The St. Louis team will play in The Dome at America's Center, the former home of the Rams. Team names will be assigned in 2019.

The announcement was made by XFL Commissioner Oliver Luck at MetLife Stadium in New Jersey during a press conference that included representatives from all eight markets.

Eight cities and venues will be revealed as the XFL prepares for the 2020 season.

It's kind of hard to believe that the XFL is coming back in 2020, but with each passing day, we get a little closer to Vince McMahon's second attempt at starting a professional football league. We pledge to bring St. Louis a team deserving of a passionate and football-starved fan base.

McMahon said there is a long term financial commitment to the XFL, and that the game play will be innovative and exciting.

It did not give details on how the league will be different than the NFL but said research is underway.

DJ Martin Solveig asks Ballon d'Or victor Hegerberg to twerk
Hegerberg was the top scorer with 15 goals as the French side won the Champions League for the third year running. Speaking to BBC Sport , she said: "He came to me afterwards and was really sad that it went that way".

Luck said they want the XFL to be affordable for families and they are working on lower ticket prices.

In its first incarnation, the XFL, which was conceived as an outdoor football league that would take place during the NFL off-season, survived just one season having sought to fuse the sport with the over-the-top theatrics of pro wrestling.

Here's where the other XFL teams will play: Dallas - Globe Life Park; Houston - TDECU Stadium; Los Angeles - StubHub Center; New York - MetLife Stadium; Seattle - CenturyLink Field; Tampa Bay - Raymond James Stadium; and Washington, D.C. - Audi Field.

Fans and curious bystanders can check out the XFL press conference on the league's various social media accounts, including Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube. The XFL has locked in major former National Football League executives, and in the first quarter of 2019, they will identify team presidents and key players, including Doug Flutie.

Beyond the presser, the XFL posted a video with a list of the cities to its official Twitter account. Teams will play a 10-game regular-season schedule and two-round playoffs in the months immediately following the National Football League season.