Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

For the past 82 years, the Heisman Trophy has been awarded to the most outstanding player in college football.

Murray beat out Tagovailoa and Washington State's Gardner Minshew II for the Davey O'Brien.

Named the AP Player of the Year earlier Thursday, Murray leads the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7; FBS record is 198.9), yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and yards per completion (16.8, tied).

While an Oklahoma quarterback sets his sights on the College Football Playoffs, he has another prestigious award to add to his collection.

On Saturday night, Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins will be in NY for the Heisman Trophy ceremony. Oklahoma has produced six Heisman winners, which includes three quarterbacks (Jason White, Sam Bradford and Mayfield) since 2003.

After the Big Ten title game, many wondered if Haskins would turn pro or remain with Ohio State. The past five winners of the Walter Camp Award won the Heisman, while the past four Maxwell winners did the same.

Jeb Bush's daughter Noelle does reading at George H.W. Bush's funeral
At Thursday's service, they said, "For decades we have sang for him, and this is, again, a real honor to be here". During one of the eulogies, Bill Clinton wiped away tears and Michelle Obama leaned over to pat him on the arm.

After taking part in a little more than 30 minutes worth of interviews, Murray moved down to the floor of the stock exchange, eventually making his way with Tagovailoa and Haskins to the balcony where they rang the closing bell.

The Hawaii native is the favorite to win the award with 36 touchdwons and only two interceptions, while leading the Tide to the No. 1 overall ranking in 2018.

Kyler Murray has put together one of the greatest individual seasons in college football history.

The two quarterbacks are also expected to have a higher passing efficiency than former Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield's record set during his Heisman Trophy-winning season previous year.

"It's been a long journey with a lot of waiting, but I think it's all been worth it", Murray said.