IT

Facebook gives Android users more control over location tracking

Facebook gives Android users more control over location tracking

In order to allow users to have more control of their location data, Facebook today announced new location controls on its Facebook app for Android.

Also Read: Facebook To Demote Unauthentic Content On Its Platform (Social Media Managers Beware) With the new update however, Android users will be given a choice to decide whether they want to share their location or not, once they exit the app. With this feature in place, Android users can block Facebook from accessing their location information while the app is not in use. If you've ever given it permission to know your location, it is likely tracking where you are all the time, even when the app is closed. For example, when people choose to use Nearby Friends, a feature that lets friends share their locations with each other, they give Facebook permission to access their location even when they're not using the app, " said Paul McDonald, Engineering Director, Location Infrastructure, Facebook.

Here's how you can stop Facebook tracking your location all the time and allow it to do the same only when you use it.

The company is also going to notify its Android app users who had previously turned the location history on about the new settings so they can review them and make changes if required.

Tyson Fury and Deontay Wilder's rematch 'to be announced on Monday'
We have enough guys in the stable that we can fight for the next two years. Even in the Wilder fight, Fury managed to stun people.

How to prevent Facebook From tracking your location? Apple's iOS gives you three choices over how to share your location with an app.

Once the updated app is installed on your Android device, a new option will be available in settings under Location Access. The collection of location data has become a central issue in the privacy debate in the US, which is gaining momentum. If you have an iPhone, you've always had the ability to fine-tune your location settings for the Facebook mobile app.

This is a significant development, considering the backlash Facebook received last spring after it was revealed that the text and call data on Android phones was being saved by Facebook app all along.

You should see a notification that looks like the one above, tap "Manage Settings". If you've never turned on Location History, you don't have to do anything.